Sri Lanka coronavirus spreads on four clusters

Share this article

Police Deputy Inspector General Ajith Rohana said only four clusters of 31 major Covid-19 clusters found across the island are still operational.

He said the total number of Covid-19 patients was identified from 31 clusters according to information from the government intelligence service, after the first Covid-19 infection was identified in Sri Lanka.

“Of those 31 clusters, there are actually only 4 clusters in operation. Of those 4 clusters, three clusters are on the verge of being inactive, so the corporation of people is necessary to monitor this situation,” he said.

When addressing the media briefing at the Covid-19 outbreak National Operation Center for Prevention, he said 14 cases were drug users out of 674 confirmed cases.

“The number of clusters should be minimised, and this situation should be controlled by the people,” he said.

Current coronavirus Situation in Sri Lanka

Nine more persons have tested positive for COVID-19 in Sri Lanka, bringing the positive cases tally to 674.

The Director General of Health Services, Dr. Anil Jasinghe stated that a total of 9 coronavirus cases have been confirmed in the country so far on Friday (01).

Five of them are close contacts of naval personnel, Dr. Jasinghe confirmed. He added that one patient was identified from Colombo area and the remaining three are from the Navy.

Coronavirus update: Follow the latest news in our daily wrap.

Meanwhile, three patients recovered from the virus earlier today, as the recoveries tally escalated to 157.

According to the Epidemiology Unit, 510 active cases are currently under medical care at selected hospitals in the country.

Sri Lanka saw the highest daily surge in confirmed COVID-19 cases on Monday (27) with 65 new infections. The tally went up from 523 to 588 just within 24 hours.

The COVID-19 related death toll in the country stands at 07.

Curfew Notice in Sri Lanka

The curfew in the four high-risk districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, and Puttalam has been extended until May 11, the President’s Office said.

Issuing a statement, the President’s Office noted that the curfew in the other districts will be lifted at 5 am on May 4 and will be re-imposed at 8 pm on the same day and ‘night curfew’ will continue till May 6.

Islandwide curfew will be in effect from 8 pm on May 6 and will continue to be in effect until 5 am on May 11.

The President’s Office said that public and private sector companies in the high-risk districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, and Puttalam can resume operations on May 11.

Accordingly, private companies can resume operations at 10 am, while employers can choose the number of workers who should report to work.

The statement noted that public transport services will limit operations to commute employees to work.

Read more related news :-HavelockMagazine/Popular Stories

Curve image:-Worldometer

Leave a Reply